Logo Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Dr. Elmar Patz
Dr. Patz with CT scan

Nerve compression syndrome of the ulnar nerve at the elbow (cubital tunnel syndrome)

After carpal tunnel syndrome cubital tunnel syndrome is the second most common compression syndrome affecting the peripheral nerves. The ulnar nerve passes through the so-called cubital canal, running along the inside of the elbow between the tip of the elbow and the projection of the upper arm bone (humerus). This bottleneck is covered by a hard sheet of tendonlike material (aponeurosis), extending between the two edges of bone.

Possible causes for compression of the nerve at this point are damage from chronic application of pressure (resting the elbow on a hard surface for a long time), changes in the bone or local overgrowth of nervous tissue.

Symptoms:

Patients report numbness (hypaesthesia) affecting the 4th and 5th fingers, as well as inside of the forearm and the edge of the hand. Later on they may experience a dragging pain in the elbow, radiating out into the forearm and edge of the hand. This may be followed by palsy of the hand muscles after some time. This problem is generally noticed by patients when they have difficulty in making pinch grip movements (writing, opening a bottle). They frequently also complain of an electric tingling sensation with pressure on the nerve in the elbow.

Diagnosis:

As with carpal tunnel syndrome, diagnosis of this condition also involves measuring nerve transmission speed to obtain an accurate picture of the location and extent of the damage.

Treatment:

If there is no improvement in symptoms or nerve transmission speed after 6-8 weeks, surgery should be carried out to avoid lasting delayed damage.

Surgery involves cutting the hard ligament covering the nerve and the constricting muscle under local anaesthetic, so releasing the nerve. The use of a splint and immobilisation of the elbow joint is not necessary here.

Also see:

» Slipped disc
» Nerve compression syndrome of the hand
» Bony narrowing of the spinal canal
» Chronic backache

Startseite | Die Praxis | Krankheitsbilder | Service | Kontakt | Sitemap | Impressum
Praxis für Neurochirurgie · Dr. Elmar Patz · Boxgraben 95 · 52064 Aachen

Logo Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Dr. Elmar Patz
Dr. Patz am CT Lichtbild

Engpasssyndrom des Nervus ulnaris am Ellenbogen (Sulcus ulnaris Syndrom)

Das Sulcus ulnaris Syndrom ist nach dem Karpaltunnelsyndrom das zweit- häufigste Engpasssyndrom peripherer Nerven. Der Nervus ulnaris zieht an der Innenseite des Ellenbogens zwischen der Ellenbogenspitze und dem Knochenfortsatz des Oberarmknochens durch den sogenannten Kubitalkanal. Dieser geformte Engpass wird durch eine derbe Sehnenplatte (Aponeurose), welche sich zwischen den beiden Knochenkanten ausspannt, überdacht.

Die möglichen Ursachen einer Kompression des Nervs an dieser Stelle sind chronische Druckschädigungen (längeres Aufstützen des Ellenbogens auf eine harte Unterlage), knöcherne Veränderungen oder lokale Wucherungen des Nervengewebes.

Beschwerden:

Die Patienten berichten über Taubheitsgefühle (Hypästhesie) des 4. und 5. Fingers, sowie der Unterarminnenseite und der Handkante. Später können ziehende Schmerzen im Ellenbogen, ausstrahlend in den Unterarm und die Handkante auftreten. Bei längerem Verlauf können Lähmungen der Hand- muskeln auftreten. Diese machen sich in der Regel durch Schwierigkeiten beim Spitzgriff (Schreiben, Flaschenöffnen) bemerkbar. Über ein elektrisierendes Gefühl bei Druck auf den Nerv am Ellenbogen wird häufig geklagt.

Diagnostik:

Wie beim Karpaltunnelsyndrom wird auch hier die Nervenleitgeschwindigkeit gemessen, um genauere Aussagen über Ort und Ausmaß der Schädigung zu erhalten.

Therapie:

Wenn sich die Beschwerden bzw. die Nervenleitgeschwindigkeit nach 6-8 Wochen nicht gebessert haben, sollte eine operative Behandlung erfolgen, um bleibende Spätschäden zu vermeiden.

Bei der Operation wird in lokaler Betäubung das derbe Band über dem Nerv und die einengende Muskulatur durchtrennt und somit wieder ausreichend Platz für den Nerv geschaffen. Eine Schienung und Ruhigstellung des Ellenbogengelenkes ist nicht notwendig.

Lesen Sie auch:

» Bandscheibenvorfall
» Engpasssyndrom an der Hand
» Knöcherne Einengung im Wirbelkanal
» Chronische Rückenschmerzen

Startseite | Die Praxis | Krankheitsbilder | Service | Kontakt | Sitemap | Impressum
Praxis für Neurochirurgie · Dr. Elmar Patz · Boxgraben 95 · 52064 Aachen