Logo Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Dr. Elmar Patz
Dr. Patz with CT scan

Nerve compression syndrome of the median nerve in the hand (carpal tunnel syndrome)

The carpal canal, the most important and most common point of compression along the median nerve, is formed by the carpal wrist bone and the ligament (flexor retinaculum) extending crosswise over it. This tunnel not only contains the median nerve but also the tendons of the digital flexor muscles of the fingers. Thickening of the flexor retinaculum compresses the nerve at the bottleneck present here.
Carpal tunnel syndrome is the most common compression syndrome affecting the peripheral nerves. Some 8-10% of the population suffer from this syndrome, which generally occurs on both sides of the body, although it tends to affect the dominant hand. Women are some three times more likely to have carpal tunnel syndrome than men, and it also runs in families.

Symptoms:

Typical symptoms are numbness and a tingling sensation in the affected hand at night. They can also be triggered by certain movements. Shaking out the hand will offer relief from pain. Increasing compression and damage to the nerve will intensify and prolong such abnormal sensations, especially in the tips of the 3rd and 4th fingers, and later on in the 1st and 2nd fingers as well, accompanied by significant problems with fine movements.

Diagnosis:

Measurement of the nerve transmission speed is carried out to confirm this diagnosis.

Surgery:

Surgery is recommended with a clear-cut diagnosis when symptoms continue to worsen, especially if they are preventing the patient from getting a good night's rest or they are experiencing neurological disorders (e.g. palsy and numbness).

At our practice we only carry out open surgery in this case as we consider it superior to the endoscopic technique (keyhole surgery) in this context. An incision measuring 3-4 cm in length is made in the palm under local anaesthetic and the ligament cut sharply to create more space. A pressure bandage is then applied for one day. The patient should start exercising the fingers and hand straightaway as giving the hand too much rest is harmful and may result in serious impairment of mobility.

Also see:

» Slipped disc
» Nerve compression syndrome of the elbow
» Bony narrowing of the spinal canal
» Chronic backache

Startseite | Die Praxis | Krankheitsbilder | Service | Kontakt | Sitemap | Impressum
Praxis für Neurochirurgie · Dr. Elmar Patz · Boxgraben 95 · 52064 Aachen

Logo Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Praxis für Neurochirurgie
Dr. Elmar Patz
Dr. Patz am CT Lichtbild

Engpasssyndrom des Nervus medianus in der Hand (Karpaltunnelsyndrom)

Der Karpalkanal, die wichtigste und häufigste Kompressionsstelle im Verlauf des Nervus medianus, wird aus den Handwurzelknochen und dem quer darüber verlaufenden Band (Retinaculum flexorum) gebildet. In diesem Kanal verlaufen außer dem Nervus medianus noch die Sehnen der Fingerbeuge- muskeln. Bei Verdickung des Retinaculum flexorum kommt es zu einer Kompression des Nervs in der vorbestehenden Engstelle.
Das Karpaltunnelsyndrom ist das häufigste Engpasssyndrom peripherer Nerven. Ca. 8-10% der Bevölkerung leidet an einem Karpaltunnelsyndrom, welches in der Regel beidseits auftritt, jedoch die dominante Hand bevorzugt. Frauen sind ca. dreimal häufiger betroffen als Männer. Das Karpaltunnel- syndrom ist familiär gehäuft.

Beschwerden:

Typische Beschwerden sind die nächtlichen Taubheits- und Kribbelgefühle in der betroffenen Hand, welche auch durch bestimmte Bewegungen ausgelöst werden können. Ausschütteln der Hand führt zur Schmerzbesserung. Bei zunehmender Kompression und Schädigung des Nervs kommt es zu einer Verstärkung der Intensität und Dauerhaftigkeit der Missempfindungen, insbesondere der Fingerkuppen des 3. und 4., später auch des 1. und 2. Fingers mit deutlichen Störungen der Feinmotorik.

Diagnostik:

Zur Sicherung der Diagnose wird eine Messung der Nervenleitgeschwindigkeit durchgeführt.

Operation:

Die operative Therapie wird dann empfohlen, wenn nach eindeutiger Diagnosesicherung weiterhin zunehmende Beschwerden bestehen, insbesondere auch, wenn diese die Nachtruhe stören, oder wenn neurologische Ausfälle (z.B. Lähmungen und Taubheitsgefühle) bestehen.

In unserer Praxis wird nur die offene Operation durchgeführt, da wir diese Methode der endoskopischen Operation (Schlüssellochverfahren) in dieser Lokalisation als überlegen ansehen. Hierbei wird das Retinaculum in lokaler Betäubung über einen ca. 3-4cm langen Hautschnitt in der Hohlhand scharf durchtrennt. Anschließend wird ein Druckverband für einen Tag angelegt. Die Bewegungsübungen der Finger und Hand sollten sofort beginnen, eine übertriebene Schonung der Hand ist schädlich und kann zu schweren Bewegungsbehinderungen führen.

Lesen Sie auch:

» Bandscheibenvorfall
» Engpasssyndrom am Ellenbogen
» Knöcherne Einengung im Wirbelkanal
» Chronische Rückenschmerzen

Startseite | Die Praxis | Krankheitsbilder | Service | Kontakt | Sitemap | Impressum
Praxis für Neurochirurgie · Dr. Elmar Patz · Boxgraben 95 · 52064 Aachen